World Archaeological Congress







TOP NEWS STORIES

Newsletter: Volume 27 April 2009

Contributions to the next WAC Newsletter due 18th May 2009

Archaeologists Without Borders Workshop

Report on the website of the World Archaeological Congress

Archaeologies of Art Podcast Series Launched!

Call for WAC members to nominate Indigenous people

World Archaeological Congress honors Larry Zimmerman

Dr Andree Rosenfeld

Recommendation on ERA Draft Quality Ranking

WAC-6 Media Releases

WAC-6 Closing Ceremony Speech

Portuguese WAC-6 Media Releases

German WAC-6 Media Releases

Spanish WAC-6 Media Releases

Turkish WAC-6 Media Releases

Czech. WAC-6 Media Release on Iran

 

 


Introduction - Programme

INTERNATIONAL CALL FOR ABSTRACTS

The Uses and Abuses of Archaeology for Indigenous Peoples

World Archaeology Congress
Second Indigenous Inter-Congress
Waipapa Marae, University of Auckland, Tamaki-Makau-Rau/Auckland, Aotearoa/New Zealand
November 8 - 12, 2005
http://ehlt.flinders.edu.au/wac/

Conference Convenors: Des Kahotea (dkahotea@ihug.co.nz), Joe Watkins (jwatkins@telepath.com), and Caroline Phillips (phillips@orcon.net.nz) Program Chair : Stephanie Ford (stephanie_ford_wac@hotmail.com)

The World Archaeological Congress has long constituted itself as an organization of worldwide archaeology that recognizes the historical and social role of archaeology as well as its political context and the need to make archaeological studies relevant to the wider community. A forerunner in the debate against institutionalized views that serve the interests of a privileged few to the detriment of disenfranchised others, the WAC values diversity against institutionalized mechanism that marginalize the cultural heritage of indigenous people, minorities and the poor.

WAC focuses on the importance of the historical and social role and the political context of archaeological inquiry, and seeks to make studies in archaeology significant to the wider community of individuals, groups, and nations. In keeping with these aims, WAC presents this Indigenous Inter-Congress as a means of providing a forum for examining a range of issues concerned with Indigenous peoples and their pasts. WAC's First Code of Ethics acknowledges the obligations of professionals in archaeology and heritage management to indigenous peoples. This involves the recognition of the importance of indigenous cultural heritage (sites, places, objects, artifacts, human remains, etc.) to Indigenous people and also, that this heritage rightfully belongs to them as their cultural property.

CALL FOR ABSTRACTS

The World Archaeology Congress issues a global call for abstracts from which to select speakers at the Inter-Congress, The Uses and Abuses of Archaeology for Indigenous peoples. Sessions include:

 Who is Indigenous?

Sven Ouzman, South Africa, ouzman@uclink.berkeley.edu ; Joram Useb, Namibia, wimsareg@iafrica.com.na ; Joe Watkins, USA, jwatkins@telepath.com

Indigenous Paths to Archaeology

George Nicholas, Canada, nicholas@sfu.ca; Sonya Atalay, USA, sonya_atalay@yahoo.com

The Representation Of Indigenous Peoples In Archaeological Theory 

Alejandro Haber, Argentina, afhaber@arnet.com.ar; Gabriel De La Luz Rodríguez, Puerto Rico, gabrieldelaluz@adelphia.net

Museums: the Good, the Bad and the Ugly

Dorothy Lippert, USA, Lippert.Dorothy@nmnh.si.edu

Protecting Indigenous Cultural and Intellectual Property

Ken Isaacson, Australia, kisaacson@southerngulfcatchments.com.au; Julie Hollowell, USA, jjh@indiana.edu; George Nicholas, Canada, nicholas@sfu.ca

Repatriation: Issues for Communities

Naomi Anderson, Australia, naomi.anderson@unisa.edu.au; Chris Wilson, Australia, christopher.wilson@flinders.edu.au

Resolving The Conflicts Between Archaeological And Indigenous Significance In Heritage Assessments

Desiree Martinez, USA, drmartin@fas.harvard.edu; David Johnston, Australia, davej@iimetro.com.au ; Sven Haakinson, USA, sven@alutiiqmuseum.com

Parallel Perspectives

Carol Ellick, USA, cjellick@srifoundation.org

The NAGPRA: Triumphs, Trials, and Tribulations Voices from Indian Country

Diane Lorraine Teeman, USA, dteeman@darkwing.uoregon.edu

Relationships between archaeologists, teaching institutions, heritage organisations, and Māori

Panel chaired by Peter Adds

Contemporary Issues in Indigenous Archaeology

Paper session chaired by Stephanie Ford, stephanie_ford_wac@hotmail.com

International Repatriation: building relationships and empowering communities

Panel chaired by Lyndon Ormond Parker ormond_parker@hotmail.com and Cressida Fforde cressidaff@compuserve.com 

PROCEDURES

Abstracts of 150 words will be accepted up to September 1, 2005. Please email your abstract to the Program Chair, Stephanie Ford: ( stephanie_ford_wac@hotmail.com). If you have identified a session that you would like to present in, you should email your abstract directly to the session conveners. You will need to include your contact information (name, institutional affiliation if any, mailing address, phone, fax and email). Authors selected to present their papers will be notified within one month of submission of their abstract.